About Us

The Communications and Utilities Regulatory Authority has responsibility for the licensing and regulation of telecommunications and broadcasting on the Isle of Man under the Communications Act 2021.  

In addition to the aforementioned telecommunication responsibilities the Authority were granted powers in March 2022 to regulate the Gas (Tariff Fixing)(Parameters) market for domestic consumers. This directive issued by Tynwald saw the introduction of economic regulation to the Isle of Man's gas sector for the first time. These powers came into force on April 1st 2022. You can learn more about the Authority's gas regulation powers by following this link.

  • The Authority is a Statutory Board of the Isle of Man Government under the Statutory Boards Act 1987,
  • The Authority is primarily an economic regulator,
  • The Authority currently has 6 Board Members and these include, 

5 x Members who are politically and commercially independent. They are drawn from a range of backgrounds. 

1 x Board Member is a Tynwald Member and is a non-voting Member of the Board.

We were previously known as the Communications Commission however, The Authority’s remit changed in December 2020. The Authority's constitution is laid out in the Communications and Utilities Regulatory Authority Order 2020. You can find out more information about our powers through accessing this link to the Communications and Utilities Regulatory Authority Order 2020